Ancient artifacts

Standard

Some time after I recovered from being sick, I went back home to the heart of it all and occupied myself with a couple new things: this was the first time I discovered the other things I could do with nail polish; this was also shortly after getting my first glue gun and wondering how I survived without it.

This is the post where I strut my re-invention finesse.

This is also the post where I learn that the before pictures in a before-and-after set are valuable.

You? You can go on my wall.

You? You can go on my wall.

Imagine if you will, a purple picture board with nothing but satin pink ribbons and accompanying rosettes dotting the junctions (not a single one to be found here).  It was a gift from a friend in high school and something that had not seen the light of day for more than minutes at a time, because even back then it was not my style.  I contemplated a couple other solutions, including more drastic one such as creating a large wall of parallel ribbons in the background or just taking all the pink things off altogether.  Fortunately, I cut my grief and even utilized some of crafting leftovers to create this much lovelier thing.  Thin ribbons from dresses and shirts have found a new existence!  Broken bling pieces and a NYC transit token can be proudly displayed! Finally, a place for all those things I did not know where else to put…and pictures.

The second item in question has been sitting around out in the open and tarnished as a result.  I regret not going at it earlier with a brush laden with baking soda to remind it of what a shiny thing it used to be, but it’s okay: one day, it will be completely submerged in adorable flowers.  In the meantime, this was how far I got before running out of wire:

This might actually be upgrading its princess status.

On a pedestal, like the princess it is.

Those flowers? Wire and nail polish. I first stumbled across this technique via a pin to this video.  It has changed my life.  Basically, for each of the loops (petals or leaves), you place your nail polish-laden brush flat against it and pull across like you’re making a bubble.  Just as well, you could also just dump the polish out and dip the loop in that way (more wasteful though).

A few tips on this technique:

  1. You know how when you’re painting your nails, you want little excess on the brush so that you don’t end up making a very thick coating that will take forever to dry?  Don’t do that here.  Short of dripping everywhere, bring the liquid on!  You’ll save yourself a lot of grief because the bubble will repeated burst unless there’s enough polish to sustain the entire journey across the gap.
  2. Make sure the metal rim stays visible on the front, make sure you decide which sides are the front and back before you start painting so you paint only on the back side.
  3. After every petal, spin the whole structure around slowly to make sure gravity doesn’t push all your colors down to one side.
  4. For a lot of nail polishes, the finished product may still be translucent when you hold it up against a direct light.  This can be a nice effect, but if it’s not your thing or just ended up looking sad, just apply another coat.

This won’t be the last you see of these flowers!  More solvent-induced madness to come!

Leave a Reply

